Scribble

December 24, 2005

Are you my neighbour ?

Filed under: Life as I know it — Celia @ 8:34 am

Had to go to the tailor to get back my christmas salwar kameez. I was busy seeing how the neck pattern was when “tailor aunt” posed me this question.. “Where do you live,ma? I saw you near my house yesterday..”.

I was surprised and told her my place. “OMIGOD!!”,aunt quipped. “We both live in the same street. My house is diagonally opposite to yours.” I was clueless as I wondered how I missed seeing her for these past 6 months.. Needless to say that am having this same tailor for the past 4 years. Not a surprise for me though.. as I rarely stay at home during the days.. I mused to myself.”What an irony! Here I was thinking that I have crossed all geographical boundaries and maintaining contacts thanks to the internet. But I had missed my own neighbour.”

This reminded me of a conversation I had with a close friend of mine few days back. She had recently got married and has gone to UK. She was telling how difficult it is to socialize there and how she ended up tracking an indian family through various calls to home and friends only to discover that this indian family stayed next to her place..

Aunt’s laughter got me out of my thoughts.. “Now that I know we are neighbours, I’ll have to take extra care for your dress… You better be!! I remarked.If you do not give it to me before Christmas, I will end up going to church without any.;)”

Aunt was ROTFL… No problem at all kiddo.. Max that can happen after that is tsunami.. and India now knows how to handle it.. After all, its going to be Dec 26 again :))

Everyone laughed on hearing that!! I came back home and saw my next door aunty waiting with a bowl in her hand.. I usually am not a good starter of conversations though I make up for it by being a good listener. But for a change and for reasons best known to “me” and my readers, I initiated.. “What is it, aunty?”.

I made mehendi paste ma.. When you were coming I thought I can ask you whether you would like to keep mehendi.. But I wasn’t sure whether you will like it..

Oh!! Am I glad!! I thanked her and accepted it. Later when I went to her home to show her my hands.. She was delighted…

Boy!! did I discover another aspect of life??

2 Comments »

  1. May Lovely,
    Happy Times,
    Decorate your
    Holiday Season,
    May Warm, Special
    Memories, Brighten your
    New Year, May the wonder of
    Christmas be with you forever.

    Comment by Nanyaar? — December 25, 2005 @ 1:02 am | Reply

  2. ma’me, in some points of view, matter of mattering’s r the big problems in this peacelss world today.Thanking God that v are safing ourselves withour our knowldege from the things happening around to conquer us ..

    Its all intresting when u mentioned mainting the contacts beyong the geographical boundaries.. “Today,things are achivable which are imaginations & dreamfull but couldnt able to achive the things which r hopefull and expected!”

    hope, enjoying ur christmas with ur new salwar kameez stiched and mehendi colouring ur hands…!hehe

    Comment by Anbae — December 25, 2005 @ 9:35 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

