Scribble

May 17, 2005

Memories of communion

Filed under: Unrelated — Celia @ 11:08 pm

Long since I wrote a post. Its been quite a lotta activity going around and didn’t get much time. This sunday, Shibin (my cousin) got his first holy communion. He was looking very handsome in his new suit and was bubbling with enthusiasm. Actually, 90 kids got holy communion on the same day and the church was very crowded. These days we don’t get to meet the bishop very often and hence the church people did a time saving task this time. Know what? The kids did their first penance on saturday, took the communion in the sunday mass and immediately after that they took the next sacrament i.e confirmation. When I got to know this, I didn’t know how to react..

But Shibin somehow escaped from receiving confirmation. He is a ten year old and they refused to give the sacrament to him ‘coz of the age factor. This reminds me of my first holy communion. I received it at the age of 8. My parents wanted to give communion to both my elder brother (he was 11 then) and myself and thereby have a big function and yet save money. I didn’t even know what was communion and what does that have to do with my life then. My sunday school teacher tried very hard to get me mugging up all the prayers. I wasn’t that good in memorizing and I couldn’t go beyond “Our Father” and “Hail Mary”. So when the day of penance came I was very scared. I had another advisor (a nine year old female 😉 ) who taught me what should be done.

Our priest (I still remember his name, AnthonySamy) was sitting inside the church and we were supposed to go one by one and tell him all the sins that we had committed and then request him to pray for us so that we can be reconciliated to God. Ooooh , but I didn’t know what I was supposed to tell, But Merlin, my advisor took care of everything. I was supposed to tell .. “Father, I disobeyed my parents, lied,fought with my brothers and friends .. and follow it by Forgive me, Father for I am a sinner” . I did faithfully as she told. I got two chocolates from Father and a couple of prayers to say as penance. I did this very gladly. The next day, was even more fun. I got so many presents and people gave me whatever I asked them. Then at the age of 13, I got my confirmation, the bishop came and slapped all of us and said, “Repent Atleast now”. I wonder why one has to slap but he did it and I wonder whether this custom is followed in other parts of the world. But now, I can’t help but think how the past traditions have been reduced to mere rituals having little meaning. All these would have been introduced for a noble cause, so as to make man a better person.But now, ….. ..sigh ….

Well, I can keep on saying more about this but then, this would never end. I had a very good day and had all biryani, chicken curry, ice cream and a good day with lotta relatives around.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

